tall poppy

Book Review-The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan

I am so EXCITED to bring you my stop on the Tall Poppy Bloggers book tour for:

The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Publication Date: August 20, 2019

Publisher: Forge Books

But first check out this video made by the author herself!!!

 

About the Murder List: 

Law student Rachel North will tell you, without hesitation, what she knows to be true. She’s smart, she’s a hard worker, she does the right thing, she’s successfully married to a faithful and devoted husband, a lion of Boston’s defense bar, and her internship with the Boston DA’s office is her ticket to a successful future.

Problem is–she’s wrong.

And in this cat and mouse game–the battle for justice becomes a battle for survival.

The Murder List is a new standalone suspense novel in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and B. A. Paris from award-winning author and reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan.

Early reviews are in!

67425129_1982662975172453_3201846235963064320_n (1)

Miss W’s Review: 

5 Fantastic Stars goes to The Murder List! I had the pleasure of reading Hank’s last novel, Trust Me, and I had high expectations for The Murder List, and I was not disappointed. The author has an extreme talent for crafting characters that are so complex, complicated and flawed. The story is edgy, intense, thought provoking and very twisty. I really enjoy the authors style of writing. The dual timelines really work in this whodunit. This is a tightly plotted, well paced psychological legal thriller that left me flipping the pages until the explosive end. That end blew me away. Honestly, I never saw that end coming. I highly recommend this book !

About the Author:

10390481_564249130347185_6173453211786564431_n

To learn more about Hank, visit her Website .

I have a very special Giveaway for you! 

Hank has GENEROUSLY provided a signed hardcover of The Murder List to one of my followers! So exciting! 

IMG_1101

Enter HERE!

Would you like a FREE PREVIEW of The Murder List? Click HERE !!!!!

I would love to know what you think about The Murder List in the comments!

Until the next chapter,

Wilfrieda

 

Tall Poppy Book Review-Meet Me in Monaco

I am so pleased to bring you my stop on the Tall Poppy Bloggers book tour for Meet Me in Monaco by Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb.

unnamed (1)

About the Book:

Set in the 1950s against the backdrop of Grace Kelly’s whirlwind romance and glamourous wedding to Prince Rainier of Monaco, New York Times bestselling author Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb take the reader on an evocative sun-drenched journey along the Côte d’Azur…

Movie stars and paparazzi flock to Cannes for the glamorous film festival, but Grace Kelly, the biggest star of all, wants only to escape from the flash-bulbs. When struggling perfumer Sophie Duval shelters Miss Kelly in her boutique, fending off a persistent British press photographer, James Henderson, a bond is forged between the two women and sets in motion a chain of events that stretches across thirty years of friendship, love, and tragedy.
 
James Henderson cannot forget his brief encounter with Sophie Duval. Despite his guilt at being away from his daughter, he takes an assignment to cover the wedding of the century, sailing with Grace Kelly’s wedding party on the SS Constitution from New York. In Monaco, as wedding fever soars and passions and tempers escalate, James and Sophie—like Princess Grace—must ultimately decide what they are prepared to give up for love.

Miss W’s Review:

Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb, aka the dream team have done it again! Meet Me in Monaco is set in 1950’s and tells the story of Grace Kelly’s relationship and wedding to Prince Rainer of Monaco. 

This is a journey of a book and I LOVED every minute. The romance in this book is palpable. I love the second chance prose and this story will take you on a ride you will not forget. The setting is breathtaking. The characters are well fleshed out, complex, and flawed. 

I was rooting for these characters every step of the way. I loved this book and highly recommend it.

Meet Me in Monaco Releases on 7/23/19 and you can preorder your copy now :

Indiebound: https://bit.ly/2SDkkHb 
B&N: https://bit.ly/2B9Cw3U 
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2Pxn5rP

I would love to know what you think!

Until the next chapter,

Wilfrieda

Book Review-Pride Prejudice and Other Flavors-Sonali Dev

IMG_1894

I am so excited to bring you a review for a book I am honestly giddy over!

Pride, Prejudice & Other Flavors by Sonali Dev is by far one of my favorite Fiction books of 2019. Published 5/7/2019 by William Morrow Publishers.

About the Book:

It is a truth universally acknowledged that only in an overachieving Indian American family can a genius daughter be considered a black sheep.

Dr. Trisha Raje is San Francisco’s most acclaimed neurosurgeon. But that’s not enough for the Rajes, her influential immigrant family who’s achieved power by making its own non-negotiable rules:

·       Never trust an outsider

·       Never do anything to jeopardize your brother’s political aspirations

·       And never, ever, defy your family

Trisha is guilty of breaking all three rules. But now she has a chance to redeem herself. So long as she doesn’t repeat old mistakes.

Up-and-coming chef DJ Caine has known people like Trisha before, people who judge him by his rough beginnings and place pedigree above character. He needs the lucrative job the Rajes offer, but he values his pride too much to indulge Trisha’s arrogance. And then he discovers that she’s the only surgeon who can save his sister’s life.

As the two clash, their assumptions crumble like the spun sugar on one of DJ’s stunning desserts. But before a future can be savored there’s a past to be reckoned with…

A family trying to build home in a new land.

A man who has never felt at home anywhere.

And a choice to be made between the two.

 

Miss W’s review:

Pride and Prejudice and Other Flavors is a modern retelling of the classic. 

This gender flipping version is brilliantly crafted. I loved the authors spinning of traditional gender norms. The difference is in social classes is sharply emphasized. The culture is beautifully described, well written and descriptive.

I fell in love with the characters and their diverseness. They were complex in nature but relatable and beloved.

The descriptive nature of the food literally left my mouth watering.

I was engrossed from the first page. The author took a popular story and made it her own. I really enjoy that the book was only loosely based on the original classic.

I very much enjoy learning about the Indian culture and traditions.

I have read MANY retellings of Pride & Prejudice and this was my absolute FAVORITE. 

5 FANTASTIC stars!

I cannot possibly recommend this book enough!

About the author:

dsc_4225_y-e1528765507156 (more…)

Review: The Key to Happily Ever After by Tif Marcelo

IMG_1894.JPG

I was so excited to read an advanced copy of The Key to Happily Ever After by Tif Marcelo. She is one of the fantastic Tall Poppy Authors .

41224036

About the book: 

A charming romantic comedy about three sisters who are struggling to keep the family wedding planning business afloat—all the while trying to write their own happily-ever-afters in the process. 

All’s fair in love and business.

The de la Rosa family and their wedding planning business have been creating happily ever afters in the Washington, DC area for years, making even the most difficult bride’s day a fairytale. But when their parents announce their retirement, the sisters—Marisol, Janelyn, and Pearl—are determined to take over the business themselves.

But the sisters quickly discover that the wedding business isn’t all rings and roses. There are brides whose moods can change at the drop of a hat; grooms who want to control every part of the process; and couples who argue until their big day. As emotions run high, the de la Rosa sisters quickly realize one thing: even when disaster strikes—whether it’s a wardrobe malfunction or a snowmageddon in the middle of a spring wedding—they’ll always have each other.

Perfect for fans of the witty and engaging novels of Amy E. Reichert and Susan Mallery, The Key to Happily Ever After is a fresh romantic comedy that celebrates the crucial and profound power of sisterhood.

Publication Date: 5/14/19 by Gallery Books 

About the Author:

Marcelo-Portrait-small

Tif believes in and writes about heart-eyes romance, the strength of families, and the endurance of friendship. A veteran Army Nurse with a Bachelor of Science in Nursing and a Master of Public Administration, she is a craft enthusiast, food-lover and the occasional half-marathon runner. As a military spouse, she has moved nine times, and this adventure.


My review:

I do love a good ROM COM , and The Key to Happily Ever After is that and MORE.
So many great things about this book. I have a sister and I love stories about sisters, especially when they are so well written, honest and REAL.

I loved that the sisters were wedding planners that was an unexpected part of the plot that I really enjoyed. The characters were complex and likeable. The story was beautiful, emotional and sorry for repeating myself here, but REAL. I really enjoyed the author’s style of writing.

5 beautiful stars to The Key to Happily Ever After.

Until the Next Chapter,

Wilfrieda