Book Review- Possession by Ginny Fite

On the blog today I have a review of Possession by Ginny Fite for Suzy Approved Book Tours

About The Book:

Release Date: September 12, 2020 Milford House Press

Recently widowed Sylvie Andrus moves with her young son, Jason, to a small river town, and discovers she must solve a two-century old mystery to rid herself of the ghost who haunts her. Still grieving, she finds the ghost of her husband, Ned, waiting in her new home to seduce her. Jason warns Sylvie the ghost is evil but, swept up by her yearning for her husband and determined to reveal what happened to Clarinda Braxton, a Revolutionary Era painter who disappeared without a trace in 1794, she delays, putting her son’s life in peril.

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Possession by Ginny Fite is a ghost story with a twist.

The characters are quirky and interesting. The timeline alternates between the late 1700’s and 2015 and this works well.

The multiple point of views work really well especially where the historical information is woven into the story line.

Sylvie Andrus is a new widow and has moved to a new town with her son to start over. She discovers a note from her husband about a woman who had gone missing in the late 1700’s. Sylvie is on a mission to find out what happened to this woman.

This is a well written suspenseful ghost story but so much more. I really enjoyed the historical pieces woven into the mystery.

About The Author: 

Ginny Fite, author of Blue Girl on the Night Dream Sea, the thriller No End of Bad, and the dark mystery thrillers Cromwell’s Folly, No Good Deed Left Undone, and Lying, Cheating, and Occasionally Murder is an award-winning writer and journalist. 

She’s also been a spokesperson for a governor and for a member of Congress, for colleges and universities, and a robotics R&D company. With degrees from Rutgers University and Johns Hopkins University, she also studied at the School for Women Healers and the Maryland Poetry Therapy Institute. 

In addition to her novels, she is the author of I Should Be Dead by Now, a collection of humorous lamentations about aging, three books of poetry– The Last Thousand Years, The Pearl Fisher, and Throwing Caution– and a short story collection, What Goes Around. 

She is addicted to Twitter and posts as @Unwrinkledbrain. She resides in Harpers Ferry, WV. Website http://ginnyfite.com/

Audio Book Review- A Child Lost by Michelle Cox

I am thrilled to bring you my review of the Audio Book A Child Lost by Michelle Cox for Suzy Approved Book Tours.

Release Date: April 28, 2020

About The Book : 

A spiritualist, an insane asylum, a lost little girl . . .

When Clive, anxious to distract a depressed Henrietta, begs Sergeant Frank Davis for a case, he is assigned to investigate a seemingly boring affair: a spiritualist woman operating in an abandoned schoolhouse on the edge of town who is suspected of robbing people of their valuables. What begins as an open and shut case becomes more complicated, however, when Henrietta—much to Clive’s dismay—begins to believe the spiritualist’s strange ramblings.

Meanwhile, Elsie implores Clive and Henrietta to help her and the object of her budding love, Gunther, locate the whereabouts of one Liesel Klinkhammer, the German woman Gunther has traveled to America to find and the mother of the little girl, Anna, whom he has brought along with him. The search leads them to Dunning Asylum, where they discover some terrible truths about Liesel. When the child, Anna, is herself mistakenly admitted to the asylum after an epileptic fit, Clive and Henrietta return to Dunning to retrieve her. This time, however, Henrietta begins to suspect that something darker may be happening. When Clive doesn’t believe her, she decides to take matters into her own hands . . . with horrifying results. 

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

 My review is for the audio book version of A Child Lost by Michelle Cox and narrated by Jayne Entwistle who does a fantastic job bringing the characters to life. This is the fifth book in the series of Henrietta and Inspector Howard. This is the first book I have read in the series and it works well as a stand alone. This historical mystery takes place in Chicago in the 1930’s. The characters are well written, complex and complicated. It is evident that the author has spent a great deal of time researching not only the time period but also the storyline as it relates to mental illness. I enjoyed this book so much that I have already purchased the first book in the series.

About The Author: 

Michelle Cox is the author of the multiple award-winning Henrietta and Inspector Howard series as well as “Novel Notes of Local Lore,” a weekly blog dedicated to Chicago’s forgotten residents. She suspects she may have once lived in the 1930s and, having yet to discover a handy time machine lying around, has resorted to writing about the era as a way of getting herself back there. Coincidentally, her books have been praised by Kirkus, Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist and many others, so she might be on to something. Unbeknownst to most, Michelle hoards board games she doesn’t have time to play and is, not surprisingly, addicted to period dramas and big band music. Also marmalade. http://michellecoxauthor.com/

Until the Next Chapter,

Wilfrieda

Book Review- Lie, Lie Again by Stacy Wise

On the blog today I have a review for Lie, Lie Again by Stacy Wise for Suzy Approved Book Tours.

About the Book:

Release Date: January 1, 2021 Lake Union Publishing

For three women with so much to hide, there’s no such thing as a little white lie…

All three women who live at 1054 Mockingbird Lane have secrets…and with a body at the bottom of their apartment building’s staircase, those secrets need to stay buried.

Sylvia Webb has a plan. And a potential Mr. Right. He’s sweet, simple, and dependably clueless about what she’s up to. The only thing unpredictable about him is his needy ex-girlfriend, who is this close to shattering Sylvia’s dreams. But Sylvia’s not going to let that happen.

Riki McFarlan has a good career and an amazing boyfriend who wants to settle down. If only she didn’t have feelings for her neighbor—who happens to be her close friend’s husband. With everything going so right, why is Riki flirting with something so wrong, so…dangerous?

Embry Taylor is as devoted to her children as she is to her husband, who’s a bartender by night, an aspiring actor by day. She is his biggest fan. But with his career not taking off and tensions high, even sweet Embry has something she’s desperate to keep hidden.

Lies, secrets, and revenge. For three neighbors with stakes so high, someone is headed for a downfall.

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Lie, Lie Again by Stacy Wise is a really well written what I would call domestic suspense with a unique premise.

The book grabs you from the very beginning, with a dead body in the basement.

The story itself is really more about the three women, Riki, Embry, and and Sylvia. They all are in close proximity to the dead body at 1054 Mockingbird Lane as they all live in apartments there.

I enjoyed the stories of the three women. The characters were complex, dynamic and well fleshed out.

It is in the stories that lead us back to the mystery of the dead body in the basement.

I really enjoyed this well written story. There are secrets, deceit and some great moments of hilarity.

Highly recommend this book to readers of all genres. There is a little bit of something for everyone in this perfectly paced story.

About The Author:

Stacy Wise is the author of Beyond the Stars, winner of the 2017 YARWA Athena Award, and Maybe Someone Like You, winner of the 2019 YARWA Athena Award. She lives in California with her husband, their four children, and three dogs. For more information, visit www.stacywise.com .

Until the next Chapter,

Wilfrieda

Book Review-The Malt in Our Stars by Sarah Fox

On the blog today I am excited to bring you my review for The Malt in Our Stars by Sarah Fox!

About the Book:

Publication Date: November 24, 2020 Kensington Books

There’s some shady business in Shady Creek, Vermont, this spring—in the third mystery by USA Today bestselling author Sarah Fox featuring pub owner and amateur sleuth Sadie Coleman . . .
 
Sadie is delighted to have booked famous romantic suspense novelist Linnea Bliss for an event at The Inkwell, her literary-themed pub, housed in a renovated grist mill. The author and her personal assistant Marcie are staying at Shady Creek Manor, a grand historical hotel that was once a private mansion and is rumored to still hold hidden treasure somewhere within its walls. 
 
But the hotel’s storied past is nothing compared to its tragic present when Marcie plummets to her death from an open window on the third floor. After Sadie discovers signs of a struggle in the room, it’s clear that someone assisted the assistant out the window. But Marcie is new in town—who would have a motive to kill her?
 
In between pulling pints and naming literary-themed cocktails, Sadie takes it on herself to solve the case, wondering if the crime is connected to the vandalized vehicles of a film crew in town to do a feature on local brewer Grayson Blake, with whom Sadie shares a strong flirtation. Or could the poor woman’s defenestration have anything to do with the legendary treasure? As Shady Creek Manor prepares for a May Day masquerade ball, Sadie is determined to unmask the killer—but when she uncorks a whole lot of trouble, will she meet a bitter end?

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

The Malt in Our Stars is Book 3 in the Literary Pub Mystery Series by Sarah Fox.
I absolutely LOVE this series and this latest installment was SO GOOD!

The main character Sadie is the owner of a pub in Shady Creek, Vermont with a book theme. The pub has book themed cocktails and literary book clubs. Sadie is SO excited that one of her favorite authors, Linnea Bliss will be holding a book talk and signing books.

Sadie and Linnea have lunch after the signing at Shady Creek Manor and that is when the trouble is afoot involving Linnea’s assistant.

As if that is not enough there is a crew in town filming at a brewery and there has been all sorts of vandalism.

It is not easy to pull off a mystery within a mystery , but this author does it seamlessly. There is no shortage of suspects and surely I put my sleuth cap on and thought I knew who did it but when it was revealed I was shocked.

The mystery is well written with great descriptive writing. The concept is so brilliant, a literary themed pub. The characters are complex and well fleshed out.

This can be read as a stand alone mystery, but you will definitely want to read the first two books to get more backstory.

As someone that reads A LOT of cozy mysteries, I can say that this is one that you definitely want to get your hands on.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

About the Author:

Sarah Fox was born and raised in Vancouver, British Columbia, where she developed a love for mysteries at a young age. When not writing novels or working as a legal writer, she is often reading her way through a stack of books or spending time outdoors with her English Springer Spaniel. http://www.authorsarahfox.com

Book Review- Millicent Glenn’s Last Wish by Tori Whitaker

I am thrilled to bring you my review of Millicent Glenn’s Last Wish by Tori Whitaker for Suzy Approved Book Tours!

Release Date: October 1, 2020 Lake Union Publishing

About The Book: 

Three generations of women—and the love, loss, sacrifice, and secrets that can bind them forever or tear them apart.

Millicent Glenn is self-sufficient and contentedly alone in the Cincinnati suburbs. As she nears her ninety-first birthday, her daughter Jane, with whom she’s weathered a shaky relationship, suddenly moves back home. Then Millie’s granddaughter shares the thrilling surprise that she’s pregnant. But for Millie, the news stirs heartbreaking memories of a past she’s kept hidden for too long. Maybe it’s time she shared something, too. Millie’s last wish? For Jane to forgive her.

Sixty years ago Millie was living a dream. She had a husband she adored, a job of her own, a precious baby girl, and another child on the way. They were the perfect family. All it took was one irreversible moment to shatter everything, reshaping Millie’s life and the lives of generations to come.

As Millie’s old wounds are exposed, so are the secrets she’s kept for so long. Finally revealing them to her daughter might be the greatest risk a mother could take in the name of love.

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Millicent Glenn’s Last Wish is a well written story that explores three generations of women. At the epicenter of the story is Millie who lives in Cincinnati and is getting ready to celebrate her 91st birthday. Her daughter Jane is moving home and her grand daughter Kelsey who is newly pregnant.

Millie has some secrets from her past that have been eating away at her. Millie is so imperfect and complex that I was fully immersed in “both” stories. The author does an incredible job of describing Millie’s life during the 1950’s and the research that went into this novel is quite evident to this reader.
The timeline alternates from that past to the present and the author is seamless in this transition.

The story line is perfectly crafted and poignant. The characters are so rich and fleshed out.

I loved every minute of this story and highly recommend it!

About The Author:

Tori Whitaker grew up in the Midwest. She now resides outside of Atlanta, Georgia, where she and her husband of more than forty years live near their two sons and their families. Tori belongs to the Historical Novel Society, and her feature article, “Multi-Period Novels: The Keys to Weaving Together Two Stories from Different Time Periods,” appeared in the Historical Novels Review. Tori graduated from Indiana University and is chief marketing officer for a national law firm. She is also an alum of the Yale Writers’ Workshop. Millicent Glenn’s Last Wish is her first novel. https://toriwhitaker.com/

Until the next chapter,

Wilfrieda

Book Review- The Dead Season by Tessa Wegert

On the blog today I have a review of Dead Season by Tessa Wegert for Suzy Approved Book Tours.

About The Book:

Release Date: December 8, 2020 Berkley Publishers


Senior Investigator Shana Merchant has spent years running from her past. But she never imagined a murder case would drive her to the most dangerous place of all—home. 

After leaving the NYPD following her abduction by serial killer Blake Bram, Shana Merchant hoped for a fresh start in the Thousand Islands of Upstate New York. Her former tormentor has other plans. Shana and Bram share more than just a hometown, and he won’t let her forget it. When the decades-old skeleton of Shana’s estranged uncle is uncovered, Bram issues a challenge: Return home to Vermont and solve the cold case, or the blood he spills next will be on her hands.

As Shana interviews members of her family and the community, mining for secrets that could help her solve her uncle’s murder, she begins to realize how little she remembers of her childhood. And when Bram grows impatient and kidnaps again, leaving a trail of clues Shana alone can understand, she knows his new victim will only survive if she wins the psychopath’s twisted game. In order to solve one mystery, Shana must wade into her murky past to unravel another.

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The Dead Season by Tessa Wegert is an edge of your seat thriller. I went into reading this book not knowing that this was the second book in the series. I think I would of understood the main character, Shana Merchant a little bit more if I had. I really liked this book and I will go back and read the first book in the series. Shana is on medical leave after something that happened in the first book so traumatic that she is waiting to be reinstated to go back to work. The story line alternates between the past and the present as it relates to events and secrets and this is very well done. Shana’s uncles body turns up after being missing for 20 years. This was a great page turning thriller. I highly recommend it!

About The Author: 

Tessa Wegert is a freelance writer whose work has appeared in Forbes, The Huffington Post, Adweek, and The Economist. She grew up in Quebec near the border of Vermont and now lives with her family in Connecticut. Tessa writes mysteries set in Upstate New York while studying martial arts and dance. 

Until the next chapter,

Wilfrieda

Book Review- The Watcher by Jennifer Pashley

I am excited to bring you my review for The Watcher by Jennifer Pashley for Suzy Approved Book Tours!

Release Date: September 8, 2020

About The Book:

From the award-winning author of The Scamp, Jennifer Pashley is back with a searing literary noir about what it means to live on the margins of society and what happens when no one is watching…

Pearl Jenkins is a nobody. She was a woman who lived as a hermit in the woods. One day, she’s nowhere to be found, and all that’s left behind is a pool of blood and a child no one knew existed, raised completely off the grid and in the grip of Pearl’s manic paranoia.

Kateri Fisher is used to being an outsider. Now, she’s the only female detective in the tiny upstate New York town of Spring Falls, where everyone knows everyone, but no one will talk. It’s fitting that she takes the case that no one else wants. But as Kateri struggles to navigate the harsh rules of a new town while trying to learn the truth about the Jenkins family, only one thing becomes clear: neither she nor Pearl are as invisible as she first thought. Someone’s always watching.

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

The Watcher by Jennifer Pashley is a fantastic novel that kept me on the edge of my seat.
Detective Kateri Fisher has been reassigned to a small town in upstate NY after she was involved in an unfavorable incident. This small town of Spring Falls is one of those places where everyone knows everyone and Kateri is the only female detective.

There is a mysterious crime that needs to be solved. There are secrets hiding in every corner.

The story is told in multiple points of view and time periods which works in this story.

The characters are well fleshed out with secrets of their own, even Kateri.

I hope there is more to come of Detective Kateri.

About The Author:

Jennifer Pashley is the award-winning author of two short story collections, States, and The Conjurer, and a novel, The Scamp. Her stories have appeared widely in journals like Mississippi Review, PANK, and SmokeLong Quarterly, and she has been awarded the Red Hen Prize for Fiction, the Mississippi Review Prize for fiction, and the Carve Magazine Esoteric Award for LGBT Fiction.

https://www.jenniferpashley.com/

Until the next chapter,

Wilfrieda

Book Review- Agatha Arch is Afraid of Everything by Kristin Bair O’Keeffe

I am SO EXCITED to bring you my review of Agatha Arch is Afraid of Everything by Kristin Bair O’Keeffe for Suzy Approved Book Reviews

About The Book: 

Release Date: November 10, 2020

Alcove Press

A quirky, nervous wreck of a New England mom is forced to face her many fears in this touching, irresistible novel from author Kristin Bair.

Agatha Arch’s life shatters when she discovers her husband in their backyard shed, in flagrante delicto, giving the local dog walker some heavy petting. Suddenly, Agatha finds herself face to face with everything that frightens her…and that’s a loooooong list.

Agatha keeps those she loves close. Everyone else, she keeps as far away as possible. So she’s a mystery to nearly everyone in her New England town. To her husband, she’s a saucy, no-B.S. writer. To her Facebook Moms group, she’s a provocateur. To her neighbor, she’s a standoffish pain in the butt. To her sons, she’s chocolate pudding with marshmallows. And to her shrink, she’s a bundle of nerves on the brink of a cataclysmic implosion.

Defying her abundant assortment of anxieties, Agatha dons her “spy pants”–a pair of khakis whose many pockets she crams with binoculars, fishing line, scissors, flashlight, a Leatherman Super Tool 300 EOD, candy, and other espionage essentials–and sets out to spy on her husband and the dog walker. Along the way, she finds another intriguing target to follow: a mysterious young woman who’s panhandling on the busiest street in town.

It’s all a bit much for timorous Agatha. But with the help of her Bear Grylls bobblehead, a trio of goats, and a dog named Balderdash, Agatha may just find the courage to build a better life.

Miss W’s Review:

THIS BOOK ! IS EVERYTHING!

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Agatha Arch is Afraid of Everything by Kristin Bair O’Keeffe is a heartfelt, comical well written novel. I LOVED this novel to no END, and I didn’t want it to end. And yes, Agatha Arch is Afraid of Everything! When Agatha comes home to find her husband and the dog walker (NO they don’t have a dog) having sex in the backyard shed, she loses her mind. As someone with anxiety, I totally related to Agatha. Her character is well written and quirky and I laughed so many times. And …goats! Yes there are goats in the book which really added such a layer of fun. I would be remiss if I did not mention the Facebook Moms Group. After discovering her husbands affair she reaches out to her moms Facebook group for support and goes off the rails. There are so many things to love about Agatha , I mean she has a nickname for her therapist and the moms on Facebook the interactions are hilarious. I think that Agatha find unique ways to deal with her fears. I have to say , this is one of my favorite books of 2020. It is fresh, unique and well written. I was cheering on for Agatha the whole time! Highly recommend this fun read!

About The Author:

Kristin Bair is the author of the novels The Art of Floating and Thirsty, as well as essays about China, bears, adoption, off-the-plot expats, and more. Her work has appeared in numerous magazines and journals, including The Manifest-Station, The Gettysburg Review, Flyway: Journal of Writing and Environment, The Christian Science Monitor, Poets & Writers Magazine, Writer’s Digest, and other publications. As a writing instructor, her peripatetic nature has landed her in classrooms and conferences around the world. A native Pittsburgher, Kristin now lives north of Boston with her husband and two kiddos.

http://www.kristinbairokeeffe.com/

I hope you will get a copy of this book and love it as much as I did!

Until the next chapter,

Wilfrieda

Book Review- Cover Your Tracks by Daco S. Auffenorde

On the blog today I have a review for Cover Your Tracks by Daco S. Auffenorde on tour with Suzy Approved Book Tours!

Release Date: October 20, 2020

About The Book: 

Margo Fletcher, eight months pregnant, is traveling by train from Chicago to Spokane, her childhood home. While passing through an isolated portion of the Rockies in blizzard conditions, the train unexpectedly brakes. Up ahead, deadly snow from a massive avalanche plummets down the mountain. Despite the conductor’s order for the passengers to stay seated, former Army Ranger Nick Eliot insists that survival depends on moving to the back of the train. Only Margo believes him. They take refuge in the last train car, which Nick heroically uncouples in time to avoid the avalanche. The rest of the train is hurled down the mountainside and is soon lost forever in a blanket of snow. Margo and Nick, the sole survivors, are stranded in the snowstorm without food, water, or heat. Rescuers might not arrive for days.

When the weather turns violent again, the pair must flee the shelter of the passenger car and run for their lives into the wilderness. They must fend off the deadly cold as well as predatory wild animals foraging for food. We learn that both Margo and Nick have secrets that have brought them together and threaten to destroy them.

Cover Your Tracks is a chilling story of love and hate, the devastating power of nature, and the will to survive.

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Cover Your Tracks was quite the thrilling read! I do love a novel that is written in dual perspectives, for me personally I get to see the whole story more than only one perspective. We meet Margo who is a VERY pregnant doctor and Nick who is former military who both are traveling on a passenger train to Washington state. There is an avalanche and everyone perishes except Margo and Nick. That credit goes to Nick as he knew to run to the back of the train. I found the dual timeline interesting as we learn more about Margo and Nick’s pasts as they were trying to survive in the wilderness. Two strangers on a train to a WHOLE new twisted level. I enjoyed the excellent descriptions of the scenery and outdoors. The characters were well written. I didn’t like Nick, but I am pretty sure I wasn’t supposed to. This is a page turner you won’t want to put down.

About The Author:

Daco Auffenorde was born at the Naval hospital in Bethesda, Maryland and raised in Huntsville, Alabama―also known as Rocket City for its role in building the rocket that took astronauts into space―Daco holds a B.A. and M.A.S. from The University of Alabama in Huntsville and a J.D. from the Cumberland School of Law. She is a member of the International Thriller Writers, Mystery Writers of America, Romance Writers of America, Alabama Writers’ Forum, Authors Guild, and Alabama State Bar. http://www.authordaco.com/

Until the next chapter,

Wilfrieda

Cover REVEAL- The Stranger in the Mirror by Liv Constantine

I am THRILLED to bring you an exclusive cover reveal of The Stranger in the Mirror by Liv Constantine in partnership with Suzy Approved Book Tours!

Is this cover not AMAZING! That eye! I am pulled in right away!

About the BOOK:

THE STRANGER IN THE MIRROR

Liv Constantine

Harper Books 

July 6, 2021

A diabolically twisty, psychologically unsettling novel about a woman with no recollection of her past from the authors of the Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick The Last Mrs. Parrish and The Wife Stalker.

Addison’s about to get married, but she’s not looking forward to the big day. It’s not her fiancé; he’s a wonderful man. It’s because Addison doesn’t know who she really is. A few years ago, a kind driver found her bleeding next to a New Jersey highway and rescued her. While her physical wounds healed, Addison’s memory never returned. She doesn’t know her real name. Or how she ended up injured on the side of a road. Or why she can’t shake the notion that she may have done something very, very bad . . .

In a posh home in the Boston suburbs, Julian tries to figure out what happened to his loving, caring wife, Cassandra, who disappeared without a trace two years ago. She would never have left him and their seven-year-old daughter Valentina of her own free will—or would she? 

As these two lives intersect, The Stranger in the Mirror hooks readers with riveting drama, told with Liv Constantine’s hallmark blend of glamour, tense psychological thrills, and jaw-dropping twists.

#thestrangerinthemirro #livconstantine #thestrangerinthemirrornovel #thriller #psychologicalthriller #suspense

Pre- Order Link NOW: http://bit.ly/strangerinthemirrorpreorder 

About The Author: 

Liv Constantine is the pen name of sisters Lynne Constantine and Valerie Constantine. Together, they are the bestselling author of the Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick The Last Mrs. Parrish, The Last Time I Saw You, The Wife Stalker, and The Stranger in the Mirror (coming July 2021). Their books have been praised by USA Today, The Sunday Times, People Magazine, and Good Morning America, among many others. Lynne and Valerie are national and international bestselling authors and their books have been translated into 27 languages, are available in 32 countries, and have been optioned for both television and film. Lynne lives in Milford, Connecticut; Valerie in Annapolis, Maryland. Visit their website at http://www.livconstantine.com and find them on Twitter at https://twitter.com/LivConstantine2 or Instagram under the handle @livconstantine2

 Author Website: https://livconstantine.com/

Miss W’s Thoughts:

I have read every single one of Liv Constantine’s books and they are all 5 star reads. If you look back on my blog you will see I have reviewed them all. The author’s writing style and ability to create a perfectly paced suspenseful plot with complex characters leaves you flipping the pages until the very end. Highly recommend all their novels.