Book Review- Love for Beginners by Jill Shalvis

I am such a HUGE fan of Jill Shalvis and I am exited to be on the book tour for Suzy Approved Book Tours for Love for Beginners!

Release Date: June 8, 2021


About The Book:

What would you change if you had to start your life—and love life—over again?

When Emma Harris wakes up from a coma she learns that her fiancé and her BFF have fallen in love, she’s lost her job, and the life she knew is gone. Overwhelmed but grateful to be alive she starts over from scratch. Not as easy as it sounds, of course. But she’s never been a quitter, even if she wishes she could quit rehab, where her hot but evil physical therapist, Simon, puts her through the wringer. 

Eager for a new beginning, Emma opens a doggy day care. Unfortunately, the only space she can afford is owned by her childhood nemesis Ali Pratt. But hey, she’s been through worse, right? She tries to roll with the punches, but a friend drops his grandpa off at the doggy day care in desperation then on top of that, she and Ali bring the term ‘frenemies’ to a whole new level. And then another grandparent shows up. And another.

In the midst of all that, Emma realizes she’s accidentally fallen for Evil PT. But the most horrifying thing of all is that Ali just might have turned into the best friend she’s ever had. And as Emma grows from the pain of her past and takes on her new path, she comes to realize that life isn’t what you’re given, it’s what you make of it.

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

I have read (devoured) all of Jill Shalvis’s Wildstone series and Love for Beginners was totally my favorite! This is book 7 in the series but all books are wonderful stand alone stories.

We meet Emma who wakes up from a coma to discover her fiancé has left her for her best friend. But that’s not even enough because she has to live with them. I mean you just got out of a coma, where would you go? What would you do?

Then we meet Emma’s physical therapist Simon and I absolutely loved the chemistry between these two. Next level snark, yes please!

The characters had such a great chemistry and the story was well written. I had such a hard time putting this book down. It was such a joy to read such a wonderful story!

I highly recommend this book !

About The Author:

Multiple New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is … mostly coincidental. Look for Jill’s bestselling, award-winning heartwarming and full of humor novels wherever books are sold and visit her website for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures. https://www.jillshalvis.com/

Until the next chapter,

Wilfrieda

Book Review-When I Last Saw You by Bette Lee Crosby

I am excited to bring you my review for When I Last Saw You by Bette Lee Crosby on Book Tour for Suzy Approved Book Tours

Release Date: May 4, 2021

About The Book:

Georgia, 1968 – Margaret Rose McCutcheon has just buried her husband and must now name a beneficiary for their estate in case of her demise. She is hard-pressed to do so because there is no one. No children. No family. At least none to speak of. At one time, she had two sisters and six brothers, but the lot of them were scattered to the four winds, with no one knowing where the others went. In the hope of finding at least one of her siblings, Margaret hires a detective and sets off on a journey to uncover the truth of why the family broke apart as it did. 

West Virginia, 1901 – When Eliza Hobbs gives birth to her sixth child, her husband is not there to welcome his daughter into the world. No surprise, because Martin is seldom there. He works in Charleston and returns to Coal Creek only when he has a mind to. Yes, he sends money on occasion, but seldom enough to make ends meet. Although Eliza believes each new child a blessing, he sees them as yet another responsibility on his already overloaded shoulders. When he discovers another child is on the way, he demands she get rid of it. he stops returning home and there is no more money. 

Left with the children, a mountainside patch of land, and a house in sorry need of repair, Eliza seeks help and turns to someone powerful enough to hold sway over Martin and force him into providing for his family. Pushed to the brink, Martin does something unforgivable and the family is forever torn apart.

Now, after all these years, will Margaret be the one to find the pieces of her broken family?

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

When I Last Saw You by Bette Lee Crosby is a poignant and heartwarming story with endearing characters that I instantly fell in love with. I was so surprised to find out that the novel was based on a true story!

I was captured instantly by the first chapter until the very last chapter. There were a few surprises that I honestly didn’t see coming. Bette Lee Crosby is an incredible story teller.

My heart was broken in parts of this family drama. I absolutely loved Eliza’s characters who was complex, flawed, intuitive and well fleshed out.

The family dynamics , secrets, friendships and romance tell of a perfectly imperfect family.

The story is told in two timelines, both in the past.

I cannot recommend this book enough!

About the Author:

Bette Lee Crosby is the USA Today bestselling author of twenty-four novels, including The Twelfth Child and the Wyattsville series. She has been the recipient of the Reader’s Favorite Gold Medal, Reviewer’s Choice Award, FPA President’s Book Award and International Book Award, among many others. Her 2016 novel, Baby Girl, was named Best Chick Lit of the Year by Huffington Post. Her 2018 novel The Summer of New Beginnings, took First Place in the Royal Palm Literary Award for Women’s Fiction and was a runner-up for book of the year. Her novel, Emily, Gone is the winner of three literary Gold Medals, and the Benjamin Franklin Award. Her newest release When I Last Saw You is a historical saga based on a true story.

Crosby is a wife, mama, grandma and dog lover who specializes in heartwarming family fiction. She credits her mom for giving her such a love of Southern storytelling and laughingly admits to being a night owl and a workaholic. Her guilty pleasures are iced latte, chocolate, and late-night chats with fans and friends on Facebook.

Until the next chapter,

Wilfrieda

Book Review- Ruby Falls by Deborah Goodrich Royce

I am thrilled to be participating with the book blog tour for Suzy Approved Book Tours.

Ruby Falls by Deborah Goodrich Royce

Release Date: May 4, 2021

About The Book:

Like the chilling psychological thriller The Silent Patient, Deborah Goodrich Royce’s Ruby Falls is a nail-biting tale of a fragile young actress, the new husband she barely knows, and her growing suspicion that the secrets he harbors may eclipse her own.

On a brilliantly sunny July day, six-year-old Ruby is abandoned by her father in the suffocating dark of a Tennessee cave. Twenty years later, transformed into soap opera star Eleanor Russell, she is fired under dubious circumstances. Fleeing to Europe, she marries a glamorous stranger named Orlando Montague and keeps her past closely hidden.

Together, Eleanor and Orlando start afresh in LA. Setting up house in a storybook cottage in the Hollywood Hills, Eleanor is cast in a dream role—the lead in a remake of Rebecca. As she immerses herself in that eerie gothic tale, Orlando’s personality changes, ghosts of her past re- emerge, and Eleanor fears she is not the only person in her marriage with a secret.

In this thrilling and twisty homage to Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, the story ricochets through the streets of Los Angeles, a dangerous marriage to an exotic stranger, and the mind of a young woman whose past may not release her.

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Ruby Falls by Deborah Goodrich Royce is a captivating and mesmerizing book that I loved.

I really loved Ruby’s story and how it was revealed layer by layer.
The descriptions were so detailed I felt as if I was in that very place.
I felt all the feelings the characters were feeling.
The characters were well written, complex, flawed and well fleshed out.

This story is a thriller but a mystery all wrapped into one. The time period of 1987 is so well written and the references to the pop culture at that time are spot on . I LOVE that the main character is a former SOAP start. I enjoy how the author draws on her own experiences to enhance the authenticity of the character and the story.

The main time period setting of 1987 is so well referenced in the book with movies and music. Our main character is even an ex- daytime soap opera star.

There are quite a few twists and turns that kept me on the edge of my seat. This book was so hard to put down.

I HIGHLY recommend it!

About The Author:

Deborah Goodrich Royce’s first novel, Finding Mrs. Ford, debuted in 2019 to rave reviews. She divides her time between the Northeast and Florida, where she writes, reads, watches a lot of movies, and spends time with her family.

Deborah serves on the governing and/or advisory boards of the Avon Theatre, the American Film Institute, New York Botanical Garden, the Greenwich International Film Festival, the Greenwich Historical Society, the Preservation Foundation of Palm Beach, the Preservation Society of Newport, and the PRASAD Project. She and her husband have restored more buildings than she can count, including the Ocean House Hotel, and the Deer Mountain Inn.

Deborah holds a BA in French and Italian from Lake Erie College and an honorary doctorate from the same institution. In an earlier life, she was an actress in film and television and a story editor for Miramax Films. Ruby Falls is her second psychological thriller, and she owes a debt of gratitude for its inspiration to Daphne du Maurier and Alfred Hitchcock.https://deborahgoodrichroyce.com/

Let me know what you think!

Until the next chapter,

Wilfrieda

Paranormal Women’s Fiction Anyone?

I am so excited to share a wonderful anthology collection of 12 Paranormal Women’s’ Fiction Stories by 13 AMAZING authors!

Book Details:

Seasoned Magic: A Paranormal Women’s Fiction Anthology

Release Date : 4/30/21

ONLY $.99!!!!!!

Preorder now:

Amazon.com: Seasoned Magic: A Paranormal Women’s Fiction Anthology eBook: Ashta, Lucia, Best, Morgana, Chase, Annabel, George, Renee, Helme, Colleen, MacLeod, Shéa, Rain, J.R., Mallory, H.P., Regnier, Rebecca, Thomas, Christine Zane, Warren, Nancy, West, Louisa, Wilde, Deborah: Kindle Store

Midlife can be magical. That’s the idea behind Paranormal Women’s Fiction, where you’ll find women of a certain age kicking ass. These are powerful creatures who know what they want, who they are, and won’t let anything get in their way—not exes or demons, hot flashes, crow’s feet or crime. Dive into this selection of stories from some of today’s best-selling PWF authors (listed in alphabetical order).

Lucía Ashta – Smexy Shenanigans (A Witches of Gales Haven Novella)

Luanne and Shawna head out of Gales Haven for the day, expecting to drink a little too much and dance the night away. What they don’t expect is to unearth secrets they believed long buried. Secrets that mean a whole new kind of trouble for the Gawama witches.

Morgana Best – Sixty, Sassy, and Sleuthing (Colt Calling Horse Rescue Mysteries Prequel)

The world is determined to put 60-year-old Cally Colt out to pasture, but she’s no one-trick pony. When she’s suspected of murder, Cally must clear her name, keep a horse rescue financially stable, and stay alive. Will she do it, or is she on a foal’s errand?

Annabel Chase – Wet My Plants (The Bloomin’ Psychic)

During an overnight visit to a historic house, Mia discovers she isn’t the only thing that goes bump in the night.

Renee George – The Importance of Being Gilly

Midlife dating is all fun and games until someone falls into the flambé and catches on fire… When Nora Black’s BFF Gilly Martin requests her help, Nora agrees to employ her psychic nose for the good of her bestie’s future.

Colleen Helme – License to Steal (A Shelby Nichols Novella)

A PI license, a stolen figurine, and the sinister plot behind it… another day for mind-reader, Shelby Nichols, that could be deadly.

Shéa MacLeod – Some Enchanted Reading (A Season of the Witch Novella)

One unexpected tarot reading, one enchantment gone awry, and one very befuddled witch in dire need of a cocktail.

HP Mallory & JR Rain – Black Cat Cocktail Club (A Haven Hollow Story)

While brewing potions and boozing with the other ladies of Haven Hollow, Poppy accidentally knocks two potions onto Wanda’s familiar, Hellcat, who immediately vanishes! Soon it becomes a mad dash to find Hellcat in order to reverse whatever magic Poppy inadvertently subjected him to.

Rebecca Regnier – Rock of Mages (A Widow’s Bay Short Story)

The newest neighborhood in Widow’s Bay is an HGTV addict’s dream! But while the floorplans may be open concept a curse is closing in. Only the empty nest coven can save the sinking shiplap!

Christine Zane Thomas – Midlife Matchmaking

After exhausting all the dating apps available, Lauren Whittaker tries a spell. Surely, her dating life can’t get any worse. But magic always has a way of complicating things.

Nancy Warren – Crossing the Lines (The Vampire Book Club Prequel)

Seattle witch Quinn Callahan knew she wasn’t supposed to mess with death. Now, the Grim Reaper’s turned up at her book club and he’s not there for the gossip and the cheese plate.

Louisa West – You Look ‘Familiar’ (A Midlife in Mosswood Novella)

One near-miss with a kangaroo and vet Veronica’s highschool sweetheart has bounced back into her life. Is this her chance to reconnect with the one that got away, or will he skip town for good and take his strange secret with him?

Deborah Wilde – A Deader Shade of Pale (A Magic After Midlife Short)

Miriam Feldman had high hopes for her big date, but a body count wasn’t one of them. Now it’s up to her and a grumpy French wolf shifter to hunt the possessed man down before anyone gets hurt.

——————————————————————————————————————————

I would love to know your thoughts! Do you read paranormal womens fiction #PWF?

I love it ! I am a woman of a certain age and the stories are so relateable.

Some of my favorite authors and some new to me authors are in this collection and I cannot wait for release date!!!

Until the next chapter,

Wilfrieda

Book Review- For All She Knows by Jamie Beck

About the Book:

Release Date: March 30, 2021

Montlake Publishers

Two mothers face the consequences of their choices in a gripping novel about friendship, family, and forgiveness by Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestselling author Jamie Beck.

Grace first met Mimi when she blew into their sons’ toddler playgroup like a warm bay breeze that loosened Grace’s tight spaces. Despite differing approaches to life and parenting, the fast friends raised their kids together while cementing a sisterlike bond that neither believed could be broken. But when a string of ill-fated decisions results in a teen party with a tragic outcome for Grace’s son, the friendship is ripped apart and an already-splintered community explodes.

Accusations are leveled, litigation ensues, and the people of Potomac Point take sides, all of which threatens Mimi’s business and her current custody agreement. Her sole salvation is a young cop who just might be her second chance at love. That fact only antagonizes Grace, whose marriage is crumbling beneath the weight of blame and the echo of past mistakes.

With their lives unraveling, the former friends stand to lose everything they love unless they learn to forgive—both themselves and each other.

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

For All She Knows by Jamie Beck is the third book in the Potomac Point Women’s Fiction Series.


This is a wonderful book that can definitely be read as a stand alone novel.

This novel is an emotional, poignant story of family, love, parenthood, and friendship in and out of marriage. At the core of the story is family and how they cope during traumatic events.

The story is told in two different perspectives, which worked really well for this story.
The characters were complex, well developed and complicated.

The author did a fantastic job at addressing the difficult topics of teen drinking and bullying.

I really enjoyed this book . Another 5 star read from Jamie Beck!

About the Author:

Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestselling author Jamie Beck’s realistic and heartwarming stories have sold more than three million copies. She is a two-time Booksellers’ Best Award finalist and a National Readers’ Choice Award winner. KirkusPublishers Weekly, and Booklist have respectively called her work “smart,” “uplifting,” and “entertaining.” In addition to writing novels, she enjoys hitting the slopes in Vermont and Utah and dancing around the kitchen while cooking. Above all, she is a grateful wife and mother to a very patient, supportive family. Fans can get exclusive excerpts and inside scoops and be eligible for birthday gift drawings by subscribing to her newsletter at https://bit.ly/JBeckNewsletter. She also loves interacting with everyone on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/JamieBeckBooks.

Let me know what you think!

Until the next chapter,

Wilfrieda

Book Review-The Butterfly Effect by Rachel Mans McKenny

On the blog today I have a review for The Butterfly Effect by Rachel Mans McKenny for Suzy Approved Book Tours.

About The Book: 

Release Date: December 8, 2020 Alcove Press

A Man Called Ove meets The Rosie Project in this “delightfully off-kilter” (Rachel Yoder, Nightbitch) tale of a grumpy introvert, her astonishing lack of social skills and empirical data-driven approach to people and relationships.

Is there such a thing as an anti-social butterfly? If there were, Greta Oto would know about it–and totally relate. An entomologist, Greta far prefers the company of bugs to humans, and that’s okay, because people don’t seem to like her all that much anyway, with the exception of her twin brother, Danny, though they’ve recently had a falling out. So when she lands a research gig in the rainforest, she leaves it all behind.

But when Greta learns that Danny has suffered an aneurysm and is now hospitalized, she abandons her research and hurries home to the middle of nowhere America to be there for her brother. But there’s only so much she can do, and unfortunately just like insects, humans don’t stay cooped up in their hives either–they buzz about and… socialize. Coming home means confronting all that she left behind, including her lousy soon-to-be sister-in-law, her estranged mother, and her ex-boyfriend Brandon who has conveniently found a new non-lab-exclusive partner with shiny hair, perfect teeth, and can actually remember the names of the people she meets right away. Being that Brandon runs the only butterfly conservatory in town, and her dissertation is now in jeopardy, taking that job, being back home, it’s all creating chaos of Greta’s perfectly catalogued and compartmentalized world. But real life is messy, and Greta will have to ask herself if she has the courage to open up for the people she loves, and for those who want to love her.

The Butterfly Effect is an unconventional tale of self-discovery, navigating relationships, and how sometimes it takes stepping outside of our comfort zone to find what we need the most.

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Usually I do not enjoy books with a VERY unlikable and I mean UN. LIKE. ABLE. protagonist, but this book is the one exception. I seemed to be cheering on Greta even though I could not stand how she acted and treated people.

Suffice it to say Greta Otto is not really a people person, she prefers bugs. I actually could relate to this because there are times that I prefer my cats to people, but I hope I am more likable and treat people better than Greta did. Great is smart and capable and I do think she cares for others, mostly her twin brother.

The writing is fantastic and the character development off the charts. I really enjoyed this book and I hope you do too!

About The Author:

Rachel Mans McKenny is a writer and humorist from the Midwest. She has been published in The New York Times, Electric Literature, McSweeney’s, and other outlets, and loves to waste time at twitter.com/rmmckenny. https://rachelmansmckenny.com/

Until the next Chapter,

Wilfrieda

Book Review- Why I Held Your Hand by Augusta Reilly

On the blog today I have a review for Why I Held Your Hand by Augusta Reilly for Suzy Approved Book Tours.

Release Date: October 23, 2020

About The Book: 

Laura Delaney loves her small mountain hometown of North Powell with its quaint charm, stately Victorian homes and surrounding hiking trails. Unfortunately, when it comes to attracting travel dollars, it can no longer compete with the flashy hot springs and ski slopes of nearby competitors. 

That’s why she hires a hotshot marketing team to figure out how to inject the old magic back into North Powell’s sagging tourist trade. What she doesn’t expect is for the team to include David Harper. Smart, funny, handsome, and amazing in bed, he’s the perfect man. All she needs to do now is keep their relationship under wraps until the project is over. 

But that’s easier said than done when she’s assigned to work with Spence Markham, the company’s offbeat “idea man” and David’s professional nemesis. When Spence suggests hosting a Dickens Festival to revitalize the town’s once-booming holiday season, Laura is thrilled. She’s even more thrilled when Spence falls in love with Powell House, the dilapidated Victorian that Laura hopes to renovate and turn into a town museum. But is Spence falling in love with her as well?

As the Festival nears, Laura’s feelings for both men intensify. Her relationship with David has only gotten better—and hotter—and yet she finds herself counting down the days until she can see Spence again. 

Soon, what started as a simple assignment becomes a tale of two possible futures. But which one will Laura choose?

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Why I Held Your Hand is a steamy romance that I enjoyed. The love triangle trope isn’t one I read often, but this author did a really great job with it.

A good description would be sexy Hallmark LOL. The setting is a small town called North Powell and out protagonist Laura is trying to save the town as it is struggling financially. She hires David and Spence and that is when things heat up.

They are planning a festival to help the town. This is a fun , steamy romance that was enjoyable.

If you like Christmas romance with some heat you will enjoy this book!

About The Author: 

Augusta Reilly has been writing for women’s magazines and literary publications for two decades. In her earlier years, she was a prolifically (if not proudly) published pulp fiction author whose anonymous literary masterpieces included ‘I Had The New Year’s Baby With Santa!’, ‘Prom Night in the County Morgue!’, ‘My Husband’s Sperm Were Kidnapped and Held For Ransom!’, ‘My Son the Pimp!’, and countless other titles, all of which ended in an exclamation point. She lives in beautiful Douglas County, Colorado with her husband, three cats, and way too many kids. https://augustareilly.com/

Until the Next Chapter,

Wilfrieda

Book Review- In Robin’s Nest by Elizabeth Sumner Wafler

On the blog today I am reviewing In Robin’s Nest by Elizabeth Sumner Wafler for Suzy Approved Book Tours

Release Date: October 1, 2020

About The Book: 

What if your daughter spotted you in a rock video astride the shoulders of the father she never met? 

Robin Hamilton is poised to reveal a three-decades-old family secret that will alter the course of three lives. Her daughter Lark unexpectedly spots her mother in a rock documentary, twenty-one, luminous, and perched on the shoulders of a handsome young man. That man is Lark’s father, Dean Falconer, though neither of them knows the truth. Robin decides it’s time to come clean. Flashback to 1977 when Robin meets Dean at a Washington, D.C. concert. The two fall in love over a single transcendent weekend. But now Robin hasn’t spoken to Dean in thirty-five years. While Lark is enthusiastic about meeting her father, Robin must deal with what could have been. A spring full of revelations, and one extraordinary summer in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia will teach these three the ultimate measure of honesty, passion and devotion.

IN ROBIN’S NEST is a richly detailed story, resplendent in charm and poignancy. It’s about living with your choices, the ties that keep family together, and finding that it’s never too late.

Miss W’s Book Review:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

In Robin’s Nest is a well written story that I would classify as women fiction.

The story has alternating timelines between the present and in the past in the 1970’s.

I enjoyed the second chance theme in this story.

The characters are complicated, complex and well fleshed out.

The music theme is prevalent and I enjoyed that aspect.

A great story about relationships, love, loss and second chance.

About The Author:

Elizabeth Wafler writes evocative women’s fiction. A member of the Women’s Fiction Writers Association, she serves as Director of Craft Education. She enjoys working with other writers through her editorial business Four Eyes Editorial. Elizabeth founded the popular Facebook group Women Writers 6.0, an inspiring and encouraging group for vibrant and growing women writers of any genre. She lives with her husband and cairn terrier Mirabelle in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, where she can be found at a farmer’s market in search of the perfect heirloom tomato, or at one of the area’s vineyards, enjoying a glass of Virginia wine. Website: www.elizabethsumnerwafler.com

Until the next Chapter,

Wilfrieda

Book Review- Possession by Ginny Fite

On the blog today I have a review of Possession by Ginny Fite for Suzy Approved Book Tours

About The Book:

Release Date: September 12, 2020 Milford House Press

Recently widowed Sylvie Andrus moves with her young son, Jason, to a small river town, and discovers she must solve a two-century old mystery to rid herself of the ghost who haunts her. Still grieving, she finds the ghost of her husband, Ned, waiting in her new home to seduce her. Jason warns Sylvie the ghost is evil but, swept up by her yearning for her husband and determined to reveal what happened to Clarinda Braxton, a Revolutionary Era painter who disappeared without a trace in 1794, she delays, putting her son’s life in peril.

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Possession by Ginny Fite is a ghost story with a twist.

The characters are quirky and interesting. The timeline alternates between the late 1700’s and 2015 and this works well.

The multiple point of views work really well especially where the historical information is woven into the story line.

Sylvie Andrus is a new widow and has moved to a new town with her son to start over. She discovers a note from her husband about a woman who had gone missing in the late 1700’s. Sylvie is on a mission to find out what happened to this woman.

This is a well written suspenseful ghost story but so much more. I really enjoyed the historical pieces woven into the mystery.

About The Author: 

Ginny Fite, author of Blue Girl on the Night Dream Sea, the thriller No End of Bad, and the dark mystery thrillers Cromwell’s Folly, No Good Deed Left Undone, and Lying, Cheating, and Occasionally Murder is an award-winning writer and journalist. 

She’s also been a spokesperson for a governor and for a member of Congress, for colleges and universities, and a robotics R&D company. With degrees from Rutgers University and Johns Hopkins University, she also studied at the School for Women Healers and the Maryland Poetry Therapy Institute. 

In addition to her novels, she is the author of I Should Be Dead by Now, a collection of humorous lamentations about aging, three books of poetry– The Last Thousand Years, The Pearl Fisher, and Throwing Caution– and a short story collection, What Goes Around. 

She is addicted to Twitter and posts as @Unwrinkledbrain. She resides in Harpers Ferry, WV. Website http://ginnyfite.com/

Audio Book Review- A Child Lost by Michelle Cox

I am thrilled to bring you my review of the Audio Book A Child Lost by Michelle Cox for Suzy Approved Book Tours.

Release Date: April 28, 2020

About The Book : 

A spiritualist, an insane asylum, a lost little girl . . .

When Clive, anxious to distract a depressed Henrietta, begs Sergeant Frank Davis for a case, he is assigned to investigate a seemingly boring affair: a spiritualist woman operating in an abandoned schoolhouse on the edge of town who is suspected of robbing people of their valuables. What begins as an open and shut case becomes more complicated, however, when Henrietta—much to Clive’s dismay—begins to believe the spiritualist’s strange ramblings.

Meanwhile, Elsie implores Clive and Henrietta to help her and the object of her budding love, Gunther, locate the whereabouts of one Liesel Klinkhammer, the German woman Gunther has traveled to America to find and the mother of the little girl, Anna, whom he has brought along with him. The search leads them to Dunning Asylum, where they discover some terrible truths about Liesel. When the child, Anna, is herself mistakenly admitted to the asylum after an epileptic fit, Clive and Henrietta return to Dunning to retrieve her. This time, however, Henrietta begins to suspect that something darker may be happening. When Clive doesn’t believe her, she decides to take matters into her own hands . . . with horrifying results. 

Miss W’s Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

 My review is for the audio book version of A Child Lost by Michelle Cox and narrated by Jayne Entwistle who does a fantastic job bringing the characters to life. This is the fifth book in the series of Henrietta and Inspector Howard. This is the first book I have read in the series and it works well as a stand alone. This historical mystery takes place in Chicago in the 1930’s. The characters are well written, complex and complicated. It is evident that the author has spent a great deal of time researching not only the time period but also the storyline as it relates to mental illness. I enjoyed this book so much that I have already purchased the first book in the series.

About The Author: 

Michelle Cox is the author of the multiple award-winning Henrietta and Inspector Howard series as well as “Novel Notes of Local Lore,” a weekly blog dedicated to Chicago’s forgotten residents. She suspects she may have once lived in the 1930s and, having yet to discover a handy time machine lying around, has resorted to writing about the era as a way of getting herself back there. Coincidentally, her books have been praised by Kirkus, Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist and many others, so she might be on to something. Unbeknownst to most, Michelle hoards board games she doesn’t have time to play and is, not surprisingly, addicted to period dramas and big band music. Also marmalade. http://michellecoxauthor.com/

Until the Next Chapter,

Wilfrieda